A New Time!!

English: Half a dozen home-made cookies. Ingre...





Ahh the challenges and changes of a new school year. My youngest is 
starting at a new high school this year.
 After 26 years of homeschooling, this is quite the change for me.
 Having to meet new parents, 
teachers and friends is challenging to my personality, for I tend to 
enjoy the status quo. On top of that I have spent the last few weeks 
dreading my Grace going back to college. She thinks she is the only 
junior whose mom will cry when she’s done helping her unpack.

Enjoying the adventure of our drive together helped, aided by the rain and 
wonderfully cool temperatures. Involved in the hustle and bustle of all 
the parents and students hauling an overwhelming amount of boxes into 
the dorms and apartments was exciting. Thinking about each one of them, 
how they all have dreams and this year is part of their journey, just 
made me want to hug them all. I did hug all of Grace's roomies and 
rejoiced as they all brought cookbooks and supplies as they look 
forward to the apartment living, while learning and cooking. The day 
brought me joy and excitement thinking about all the new experiences 
this year will hold which was a very good moment for me and my 
"uncomfortable relationship" with change.

 I  continually need to remind myself 
how good change is for me. It forces me to grow in ways I might not 
otherwise choose to grow in. In the growth I fine tune old ways of 
living that really are habits that are not beneficial to me.  Hooray to 
choose new habits that work for this time in my life, bringing joy and 
purpose!  Now that is something to be thankful for.

Relationships must grow and change as well.
 While we may be comfortable 
with how they are, the more comfortable I am with letting each of us 
change and grow, becoming all we are meant to be, the better the 
relationship will become. Just because it will be different does not 
mean it is ending. I must allow it to become what it needs to be.
 This is true for everyone, but especially our kids. 
 Just as we encourage them in each stage of development,
 such as walking and learning to read, they really need encouragement into adulthood. 
 I need to find healthy ways to keep the relationship going with both these kids in this new 
place. 

Hmm I am thinking chocolate chip cookie care package!!! (and 
maybe a few cookies added into the daily lunch box as well 
or bring the football game to share with other parents and potential new friends.

What changes are you facing in your life this year and what can you do 
to embrace the change and go forward??

Update on this Post:   Day 4 of back to school and it is going really well!!
  I am loving the phone calls from my college girl.  Noticing the maturity of my youngest has been awesome.  
His attention to routines and homework is amazing!!  Yes, he makes his lunch each day!
 (Admittedly, he forgot it yesterday and I had to make an emergency drive, but I had other things to do while I was out,
And he will owe me one hour of work this weekend!)
I also made a friend and we will team up for the football luncheon and carpool to the out of town game on Friday!
Really, attitude makes such a difference!  We can choose what to hang onto and what to leave behind!

Car loaded with hay in Southern Albania


		
Leave a Reply

