What are you looking forward to?

Lights

What do you look forward to?  Often, we look forward to vacations or the weekend.  We longingly look toward retirement or when the kids are grown and out of the house.  While long term accomplishments might motivate us they more often steal the joy and excitement from the present.  How would it be if you had something to look forward to every day?

I have added, “What can I be excited about tomorrow?”  to my evening questions. (The other one is, “What was great about today?”  But that is another blog).  The results have been amazing.   With the simple thought that one thing about tomorrow will be fun and exciting helps my brain produce happy chemicals as I sleep.  Upon waking this can continue in other areas of my life.  In addition, I am reinforcing to myself  there are things within my control.  Yes, many things are not in my control, but I can enjoy lighting my new apple scented candle tomorrow.  While it seems like a small thing it will inspire me to not be afraid of some harder things to take charge of in my life.   It is so easy to get in the habit of letting life happen and going through the motions rather than being the CEO of our own lives.

Last night I looked forward to writing  my blog today.  It was also predicted to be cool this morning, so I knew I would take an early morning walk and enjoy wearing a jacket and scarf!  When I woke up, it was with a sense of anticipation of both of these!  Yes, when this is a habit you will find it hard to limit yourself to only one thing.   Start small.   What can be exciting?   Wearing a new scarf, having coffee with a friend, trying a new recipe, working out to great music are a few ideas to get you started.    Try it out for 30 days and see what the results are for you. Let me know how it goes!!

What can you be excited about ???

Apple fruit
Have you tried a honey crisp apple? That is really something to look forward to!!
2 thoughts on “What are you looking forward to?

  1. Sonja, I am filled with excitement also because this day means we are in the best season of the year. I have a bit of cold and sore throat but God placed (with my help) boxes of Christmas to anticipate how this year each will be lovingly placed in an old familiar spot to finding new creative spots. I love today and yes I have tried a honey crisp apple. I adore noticing God’s world revealed every hour.
    Nancy Ratcliff-Rondeau

Leave a Reply

