If it’s important to you, it’s important to do!

Sitting down, I was excited about writing a blog for our habits section on why breakfast is so important.  Suddenly, I had a memory of 3rd grade and an oral report about, “The importance of Breakfast!”  I remember being very excited about this.  I loved learning and anything extra or different was always fun.  My dad, (who worked for US Dept of Agriculture) had given me coloring books to hand out to every one in the class as part of my presentation.   Sharing this gold mine with another girl- really what could be better than giving away free coloring books!   She   replied, “Well, it’s not important because the coloring books are on the 4 food groups, not breakfast”.   Looking back now, I see a huge amount of envy here since of course her report was on the 4 food groups, but at that time I allowed it to totally steal my excitement and joy.  While I went through the process of my presentation, it was without the earlier feeling of satisfaction.

There are times in my adult life I am excited about doing something and making progress in my goals, when suddenly for no apparent reason I will begin to doubt myself.  I begin to wonder, ” Can I do this?”  “Is it important enough to spend all this energy?”  Of course, when I start this line of thinking, it removes my momentum and joy.  I start thinking my value and worth or the value and worth of what I do can be evaluated and determined by another and what they might think.   What hogwash!!   I do not believe this.  But, somewhere in me is an 8 year old experience (perhaps other experiences too) that believes this.

The good news is, I have faced this before and know what to do!!   I have a list of many of these hindering beliefs that are no longer truth in my life , posted on my wall.  Beside each one is the new belief that motivates and empowers me.    All I have to do is remind myself, ” I do not give anyone the right to take the place of God in determining what is important for me”.    My new empowering belief is – If it’s important to me- it’s important to do!!   This brings me back to my adult place and allows life to flow away from a hard, frustrating place.

Hmmm, you might be saying, this is harder to do and you make it sound too easy.   Granted, I learned this skill in a group situation where we were all having fun putting old beliefs to rest and helping each other over come them and come up with new empowering sayings.   The synergy of the group was great, as well as just having permission to leave old things behind that are not working was amazing.   I also have facilitated others in this process many times, both in group and individual sessions.  It always amazes me to see the transforming  quality of this exercise in the lives of others.  The hardest thing is giving yourself permission to change these things.   These beliefs have been a part of you for a long time and it might feel like to leave them, you will lose yourself.  The opposite is actually true, when you face these beliefs and decide if it is empowering or dis empowering to you, it releases you to be more the real you and not a false sense of who you think you should be!!

Try making a list of 3 dis empowering beliefs and transform them into a new truth that propels you into being all you are meant to be.   Remember, I offer a complimentary coaching call if you would like to work this through with someone else.  This would be a great way to check out coaching  or just deal with this one area!

Now, I need to write my breakfast article.  I have a vision for everyone to have a life of joy, purpose and fun.   Not everyone will read it or even agree with me.  Hopefully, this blog will be helpful for some and encourage you and give you tools to make it happen.  In order to go forward I must know in my heart that it is important for me to write and therefore important enough to do it!!

Leave a Reply

