July New Habit — Freedom!!

Mel Gibson as William Wallace wearing woad.
Mel Gibson as William Wallace wearing woad. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In my mind I am imagining saying it like Mel Gibson in “Braveheart”.   “FREEDOM!!!”

Admittedly, I am a little sad to let our June habit of having fun each day go. However, that is the cool thing about making new habits. By focusing on having fun each day, it can continue in our everyday day life naturally, even why we change our focus to another area.

Each of us will have our own needs and ideas concerning what freedom can or needs to look like for us.   For some, it will be letting go of the past and going on, for others making changes and taking charge of areas in life that have held us captive.  I teach a children s class for a 12 step program.  This week we deal with powerlessness.   We all have situations in life where we feel powerless and we cannot change them.  There are, however, many things we can change.- Attitudes, responses, thoughts and beliefs that are not serving us at this time.   And yes, Boundaries, both physical and emotional can help us be free to be ourselves and feel safe to be ourselves.  I do love the old prayer by Reinhold Niebuhr:

Twelve Step Program

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can

And the wisdom to know the difference .

How would a month of practicing the habit or freedom each day look for you??    Are there areas you need to  accept or change?        

It will be exciting to see how this plays out!  hmm I think I need to run around the house shouting ”  Freedom, Freedom”.  (Since I am not wanting to give up on my having fun each day, quite yet!!)

Leave a Reply

