First Things First

10525916_781390441881524_13519433434744531_n[1]When life gets busy and crazy with a never-ending to-do list usually I tend to roll up my sleeves and get on the treadmill and keep going and going and going.  It takes a while for me to realize I have gone too far over the edge.   Yesterday, I thought about working out.  Hmmmm how long has it been?  Over a week…No wonder I am feeling lethargic and tense. Really, I know the fact is, the busier I am, the more I need to be aware of what it takes to keep me functioning – physically and emotionally.   Just like I need to set up routines in my life to make sure the dishes are done every day and people have food to eat, I must have some routines in place to keep me balanced and energized.   Everyone is different.  For me I need to do these things every day!!

  • Breathe– When I am tense, my breathing gets shallow and fast.  I need to be consistent with practicing slow rhythmic breathing.  Just 5 min several times a day on being conscious of this will keep me relaxed and thinking clearer.
  • Movement– Take a walk, put on music and dance, or swim every day releases tension and keeps my heart healthy.
  • Laughing– Actually, I have done well with this one.  Living with someone with dementia keeps me laughing quite a bit.  Some situations you really have to either laugh or cry.
  • Fun– For me this is essential, but often neglected.  I did take a day to go to the water park.  I was able to have fun on many levels with daughters and grands.  Fun with a two yo, watching joy at every splash, fun with the pre-teens on the slides and wave pool, and relaxing rocking the baby to sleep.  Not every day can be a water park day, but fun is important to be found anywhere.
  • Loving– Sometimes I get to busy to love or be loved.  It is funny, but I do have to be conscious of this.  Just to stop and let the love all around me soak in or to look a loved one in the eyes and communicate my love to them.

I know if I have these things in each day, my life will be richer and more rewarding.  The things that annoy me will not be so important and I will actually accomplish more than if I neglect these things.

How about you, what life essentials do you need to implement in your days and how do you make sure to do them?

Ok, now I am off for a walk in this quite unusual July rain!!   Exercise and fun combined— Yipppeee!!

 

2 thoughts on “First Things First

Leave a Reply

